facebook iconTwitter iconinstagram icon
Champions League

Champions League Achtelfinale: RB Leipzig vs Manchester City

The final round of 16 in the top flight is coming up and another highlight awaits: Manchester City is the guest in Leipzig. Find out here why we expect a few goals in this game.

5th place in the Bundesliga, 39 points after 21 matchdays and only one defeat in the last five games. Things could be worse for RB Leipzig. At the same time comes a small but. Because, of course, the Saxons have aspirations of greater things, have developed a certain expectation over the years and with their squad.

But with only four points behind the top of the table, everything is still possible in the league and there are also important weeks ahead in the Champions League. Manchester City, of all teams, comes to visit on Wednesday, no question a difficult draw. At least Christopher Nkunku is fit again, the striker was missing for several weeks due to injury and still comes to 17 goals and 5 assists. Impressive. The Frenchman got his first start against Wolfsburg, but it is still unclear whether he will start against City or come off the bench. In goal, however, Marco Rose must continue to do without Peter Gulasci, who will be replaced by Janis Blaswich.

Manchester City are doing almost perfectly this season, if it weren’t for Arsenal. Erling Haaland is having the season of his life, scoring 26 goals in the Premier League and 5 in the top flight, with no end in sight. Besides the Norwegian, however, there is other striker gold. Experienced Riyad Mahrez, homegrown Phil Foden or Argentine Julian Alvarez, coach Pep Guardiola is spoiled for choice. Recently, there have been a few question marks, because at the weekend, for example, only a draw was enough against the promoted team from Nottingham. In the European competition, however, the top stars in particular will want to step it up a notch.

The Citizens have scored more than three goals four times in their last four league games, so an offensive fireworks display is likely. RB Leipzig have failed to score only once in their last six Bundesliga games. And in three encounters, the Bulls even scored more than twice.

We therefore expect an exciting, attacking match with a goal or two.

fussball

Exclusive NFL tips in the newsletter

Sign up now for our exclusive NFL tips and receive valuable advice for your next sports bet at regular intervals.
Check

Free Tips

Week by week we offer here the latest tips of the NFL. Of course, we can not guarantee any results, but we want to try to prepare you as best as possible for the next game day.
All tips

facebook iconTwitter iconinstagram icon
Champions League

Champions League Achtelfinale: RB Leipzig vs Manchester City

Die letzten Achtelfinale der Königsklasse stehen an und es wartet ein weiteres Highlight: Manchester City ist zu Gast in Leipzig. Warum wir uns einige Tore in diesem Spiel erwarten, erfahrt ihr hier.

5. Platz in der Bundesliga, 39 Punkte nach 21 Spieltagen und nur eine Niederlage in den letzten fünf Spielen. Es könnte schlechter laufen bei RB Leipzig. Gleichzeitig kommt ein kleines aber. Denn natürlich haben die Sachsen den Anspruch Größeres zu leisten, haben über die Jahre und mit ihrem Kader eine gewisse Erwartungshaltung entwickelt.

Doch mit nur vier Punkten Rückstand auf die Tabellenspitze, ist in der Liga noch alles drinnen und auch in der Champions League stehen wichtige Wochen bevor. Ausgerechnet Manchester City kommt am Mittwoch zu Gast, keine Frage ein schwieriges Los. Immerhin ist Christopher Nkunku wieder fit, der Stürmer fehlte für einige Wochen verletzungsbedingt und kommt trotzdem pflichtspielübergreifend auf 17 Tore und 5 Vorlagen. Beeindruckend. Gegen Wolfsburg bekam der Franzose seinen ersten Einsatz, noch ist unklar, ob er gegen City starten wird oder von der Bank kommt. Im Tor muss Marco Rose allerdings weiter auf Peter Gulasci verzichten, ersetzt wird dieser von Janis Blaswich.

Bei Manchester City läuft es in dieser Spielzeit fast perfekt, wäre da nicht Arsenal. Erling Haaland spielt die Saison seines Lebens, 26 Tore in der Premier League und 5 Treffer in der Königsklasse – ein Ende ist nicht in Sicht. Neben dem Norweger gibt es aber noch weiteres Stürmer-Gold. Der erfahrene Riyad Mahrez, Eigengewächs Phil Foden oder der Argentinier Julian Alvarez, Trainer Pep Guardiola hat die Qual der Wahl. Zuletzt gab es ein paar Fragezeichen, denn am Wochenende reichte es beispielsweise gegen den Aufsteiger aus Nottingham nur zu einem Unentschieden. Im europäischen Wettbewerb werden aber besonders die Top-Stars noch einmal eine Schippe drauflegen wollen.

In den letzten vier Liga-Partien schossen die Citizens viermal mehr als drei Tore – ein Offensivfeuerwerk ist also wahrscheinlich. RB Leipzig traf in den letzten sechs Bundesliga-Spielen nur einmal nicht das gegnerische Tor. Und in drei Aufeinandertreffen netzten die Bullen sogar mehr als zweimal ein.

Wir erwarten deshalb ein spannendes, offensiv geprägtes Match mit dem ein oder anderen Treffer.

Exklusive NFL-Tipps im Newsletter

Melde dich jetzt für unseren exklusiven NFL-Tipps an und erhalte in regelmäßigen Abständen wertvolle Hinweise für deine nächste Sportwette.
Check

Kostenlose Gratis Tipps

Woche für Woche bieten wir hier die neuesten Tipps aus der Welt des Fußballs. Wir können natürlich keine Ergebnisse garantieren, doch wir wollen versuchen euch bestmöglich auf den nächsten Spieltag vorzubereiten.
Alle Tipps ansehen